On hatred, respect, and treating people like humans in heavy metal circles

I’m annoyed because today was supposed to begin our look back at the metal year 2014, one in which there were so many records I liked that putting a list together was extremely difficult. It’s also one where I had some of the most positive show experiences of my life, and that my local metal community has grown and become mightier.

Yet here we are, having to tackle an ugly issue that has plagued metal for a while and reared its puss-filled head over the weekend. By the way, I’m stream-of-consciousnessing this thing, so if it’s all over the map, that’s why. I’m not going to rehash the entire thing here for a number of reasons, the largest of which is I don’t want to further distribute the garbage that was disseminated via social media this weekend by Phil McSorley of Cobalt (who anyone who knows this site or me knows how much I love their music) and Mike Meachem of Loss. The talking points here are bashing people because of their sexual identification and wishing death on them; tearing down feminism and making women feel lesser for being in the scene; and being torn down publicly for having the audacity to be a person with feelings and compassion toward others. There are other statements that go even deeper that were not a part of this weekend’s idiocy, and they’re just as awful and despicable. By the way, a lot of this got sparked by an article based on an interview with Andy Curtis-Brignell of Caina and his disgust with women and other people being attacked by metal fans. Gee, how dare he try to act like a human? By the way, the band’s new record “Setter of Unseen Snares” is fucking awesome, and we’ll have an extensive review when it drops next year.

First thing I’ll say is the use of derogatory terms toward people of the LGBT community—or any, really—is not acceptable. It’s not metal. It’s not black metal. It’s not cult. It’s not cool. It’s not true. It’s not fun. It’s not funny. It’s not a joke. It’s garbage. It’s unacceptable. It’s childish. It’s evidence of a dense brain and a lack of intellectual thinking. It makes me laugh at you and also feel sorry for you. I don’t endorse it. I don’t want it near me. I don’t want to associate with music or musicians who freely use this kind of speech and honestly, meaningfully direct it at other people. It shows a black hole as far as humanity goes. You think it’s OK to jokingly say, “That band is gay”? It’s not. Stop fucking saying it. Challenge yourself and find a better word. Are you 11? The fact that prominent member of metal’s underground have publically used this type of speech, and that sheep followers have liked or endorsed or re-Tweeted, or reciprocated their words is so beyond stupid to me, I’m having a hard time grasping it. The fact that much of this was directed at a female writer who happens to be one of the hardest working, most respected members of the metal media infuriates me. And trust me, she doesn’t need my support or backing. She’s a bad ass, someone I am honored to call a friend, and someone who helps this site in a gigantic way. She also probably forgot more about metal than most people know. That pisses me off heavily to see her treated this way. It’s not fucking metal. It’s weak. I also understand one of the musicians above is raising a young girl. Oh boy. I don’t even know what to say there. Good luck, kid. I wish you well.

On this topic, I have a friend who is both a female and gay who told me that she often doesn’t like to even be around metal folk because of how she gets treated. The fact that anyone, much less this person whose metal knowledge likely trumps most people’s, has to feel this way in 2014 is a failure not only for metal but for society. It’s music. It’s a show. Are we not all laughing at Varg these days? Do we not our shake our heads in disgust over Faust’s heinous murder of a gay man in 1992? If not, you’re fucking doing it wrong. Metal can be a community. It can breed familial scenes and friendships. If not for this very thing, I don’t know how I would have gotten through high school. Maybe I was “lucky” to be a white heterosexual male, and perhaps that same thing is what makes me feel comfortable in my current circles. But I also know the company I keep are tremendous people who never, ever would stoop to the cowardice of the musicians mentioned above. I feel fortunate for that, and I hope my friend one day finds that for herself. And she always has a friend in me.

Now onto women in metal and their inclusion in the scene. Seriously, this is still a thing? We haven’t yet figured out women are just as worthy, just a worthwhile as men? I mean, this obviously is a problem not just inside metal’s walls. It’s still an issue in America. We’re still belittling and questioning and shaming rape victims. There still are people who openly mock the concept of equal pay for women. Sadly, there people in my Facebook feed who are a part of this shit, and it takes all of my strength not to respond. I don’t because it’s not worth throwing shit against a wall. I’m thankful I don’t feel the way these people do and I work hard to make sure people are included and treated justly. I don’t deserve a pat on the back for that.

Funny, the people trashing women’s plight for respect usually are white dudes who clearly feel threatened. Be confident in yourself, and if you are, it won’t matter to you that other people have the same rights and privileges as you. And look, the basic idea of feminism is striving for equality for women in all aspects of life. I’m a fucking feminist. A proud one. A boisterous one. I have a lot of amazing female friends who are listeners, fans, and musicians that I admire, respect, and look up to very day. It’s so stupid I even have to point this out. It should be a, “Duh, who doesn’t feel this way?” but that’s not the case. Funny, but these musicians above want to throw around the word “pussy” when describing bands, musicians, or fans who have the temerity to value women and want to celebrate their accomplishments in metal and the world. I chuckle when they use that word because their value as people drops as a result. Like, that’s the best insult you could muster? I’d also argue that people who take to social media and harass people and mock others aren’t exactly showing an admirable level of guts. It’s fucking weak.

Do you remember Iron Maiden ever trashing their female fans or fellow musicians? Harassing gay or trans members of their audience? Having to make some macho asshole statement just to prove what men they really are? How about Ronnie James Dio? Black Sabbath? Hell, Judas Priest? Those artists are legends. The cretin listed above might not even have a medium to pour their pure hatred if not for them. They don’t even deserve the honor of plugging in their guitars. You think those bands lose sleep at night that female or gay artists are afforded equal chances as them? No. Because they are/were awesome fucking players and don’t sit around worrying about what others do.

I see metal as a family. I feel fortunate to have a ton of friends—musicians, writers, label heads, metal fans—who I consider friends and who I interact with daily. This site is an homage to metal, a celebration of the sounds that fill my heart with joy and power every day. Yes, there is a place to express negativity and ugliness in metal, and we have covered and will continue to cover that music on a regular basis. But when that comes down to harassing people, to wishing real death upon others, to stripping people of their dignity and equality, it goes beyond dark music. It exposes a sick, dishonorable way of being that I refuse to celebrate. The artists listed above? You won’t find them here ever again. I’m sure they don’t give a shit. Fine with me. It’s how I feel about their careers now. I also commend Erik Wunder, the other half of Cobalt, for publicly distancing himself from McSorley’s bullshit commentary. Good for him. He’s a brilliant artist who does not deserve to be dragged into such sad territory. (UPDATE: Wunder has since removed McSorley from Cobalt and will continue on as a band without him.)

Although I did not do that here, I do hope people keep reposting the hateful messages these and other artists have the stupidity to put into public consumption. People need to see this. They need to know what artists are not worth supporting. Yes, it also spreads their message and gives them attention, and it’s the double-edged sword kind of thing. But awareness is key. I’ll trade these guys getting their names more attention and asshole followers endorsing them if more people realize what failures at life they are and stop supporting their art. In fact, if you disagree with what I’ve said in this piece, feel free to never come to this site again. I don’t need you. We’re not exactly a site with the highest traffic ever, but I don’t need to be if it means weeding out people who are just poisoned. I’m here because I love metal, and I don’t care if it makes me false or whatever asshole descriptor you want to add to it. Trust me, I’ve been called every insult in the book at one point or another in my life, and I have a pretty hard fucking shell because of it. I’d rather you trash me than the fantastic people who are facing such idiotic attacks.

In closing, I want to be proud of metal. I want to defend it to the death. I want to tell people they are wrong about their archaic misconceptions about metal and its artists. Then things like this happen, and it takes a lot of the piss out of my argument. Hatred, anti-women, anti-gay/trans, and racist undertones have been a part of metal for too long. It has to stop. It’s garbage. It’s a sign of a failure to evolve as people. It’s something I refuse to tolerate. It makes metal look like a meat-headed society. I know it largely is not that. The filth aspect in metal is a minority, in my experiences, but that ugliness clearly is still out there. I urge you, please, if you face this type of harassment, if you are under attack for your gender or your race or your sexual orientation, please know you have a friend here at Meat Mead Metal. Reach out to us. We want you to feel like family, like you are respected and wanted, because you are. You matter. If Phil McSorley thinks I’m a pussy because of that, I seriously could not care less. I think it’s clear what he’s about, and his views mean shit to me. Maybe part of his issue is the stress of being in the military or perhaps mental issues, and if that’s so, I hope he gets help. I hope anyone who feels this way gets help or gets a chance to have an eye-opening experience. Anyone can better themselves and change the way they are.

It’s going to be 2015. We can have a positive impact on the world and prove that metal’s not a cesspool of hatred. But we need to be active and vigilant and protective of one another. Real hatred should not be tolerated or accepted or celebrated. To do so makes you an archaic joke whose existence is just sad.

Brian Krasman

@bkrasmanmmmetal

68 thoughts on “On hatred, respect, and treating people like humans in heavy metal circles

  1. I haven’t seen the offending material and have no wish to (I don’t like what social media brings out in me and others, so I leave it alone) but I appreciate you writing this Brian and agree with you whole heartedly.

  2. I don’t have the problem with extreme content in metal, but it has to stay there, in the song, in the lyrics and in the sounds. Why do we create (write, play, compose…) then?
    Extreme art is often a sublimation of (self-)destructive tendencies.
    Black metal was fighting for the freedom at least in one moment, but then it became the same propaganda against everything different, ‘stereotypical satanic stigma’. I love black metal anyway because partly due to a this site I found more truly artistic black musicians.
    I would like to live in a world without warriors, religious institutions, conformists…but I don’t kill people or spread the word of violence because I’m smart enough to know that I cannot change the world in the way I want, even Hitler failed.
    Everyone can do whatever he/she (yes, she!) wants, unless they are endangering others (but it doesn’t mean that some believers should quit someone’s performance just because it explores something opposite of their dogma – those are the staff that should be regulated by official law, not by ‘street/internet rules’).

    Considering the LGBT community, it’s ridiculous for people to be so obsessed with someone’s sexuality. I don’t care what people do in their beds.

    I support EQUAL rights for men and women and I would like for some rules to be erased/forgotten: saving the women and children first in the accidents or giving any other smaller advantage based on a gender or ‘social importance’. If society has to save only better ones, why we keep invalids in life? Where is empathy for ALL stigmatized people? Nobody deserves to be attack just because he/she is different.

    Also, profession and sexual or any other orientation don’t have connections!
    As you’ve mentioned, Brian, people who were doing their job grate and lived ‘outside of the norms’ are still honored.
    I beg people to understand, if you are visiting a hairstylist and you know the results will be perfect, does the fact that he is he or she is she, or he is with her or she is with she changes something?

    Dumb people are making problems even in the 21st century. Educate and inform, and then discuss (about religion, science, philosophy, art etc)! I’ve noticed this is the huge problem in American society, there are many fanatics. In Serbia, I was going 12 years on religious classes taken by the orthodox christian priests and I NEVER believed in everything I’ve heard, I always had my opinion and little philosophical theories and nobody forced me to change my mind. I remember one day at the age of 13 or 14 we were pretty active and almost everyone had different questions that was shaking the dogma, and the teacher (priest) answered even better.
    Now I can proudly say that I never belonged to any religion and that I belong to myself and believe in my own brain that screams in front of (religious) extremists around the world.

    I forget to mention racists, those biologically blind people who never learned the difference between the species and race. Caucasian race is generally more beautiful for me then Mongoloid and Negroid, but I don’t hate people just because they don’t suit my aesthetics. You, racist reader, don’t kill your friend just because he/she wears that jacket full of innocent colors that you threw away few days ago in the store with big ‘no’ on your face, right?

  3. Thank you for writing this. It articulates a few of the things I’ve been thinking and writing about for a year or so now. It’s saddening to hear that the metalgate non-controversy was not the only example of metal-related reaction against “SJWs” or whatever this weekend. It’s even sadder to learn that Phil McSorley, half of one of the absolute greatest US black metal bands ever, is apparently okay expressing bigoted attitudes. Perhaps enlisting in the army should have been a warning sign.

    • I really hope that comment about the Army wasn’t sincere, because I love metal and I am in the military too and I certainly am not a bigot in any way, shape, or form.

      As for McSorely…Well, I am an acquaintance of his. And honestly, I think there is something going on in his head. He didn’t start to get real bad like this until sometime around a year ago. Not sure what it was because just from being a pretty normal dude to just…absolutely batshit crazy and rabidly hostile to those who had supported him for years.

      • Let me first say that, just speaking for me, I have utmost respect for those in the military. We have three service people in my wife’s side of the family, one who just finished boot camp. So all the respect. I do think the line above might have been tongue in cheek.

        That’s really sad to hear about McSorley. I wonder about PTSD or just stress or whatever. And I am saying this with zero knowledge of his situation whatsoever. I really hope someone or something can intervene, because he obviously has talent. He has something to offer. I just hope something can be done before he goes too far over the edge. Thank you for your input, and I hope you visit the site again.

  4. “Oh yes, I think there are plenty of people in the metal community who would prefer to keep metal a private men’s club for sure. Metal was extreme and progressive when it first started, but now that it’s become a somewhat fixed subculture, it has become a structure that provides security and comfort for those who identify with its largely masculine themes and sounds. For those who make this structure their home, change feels like danger. Women are one of the most extreme changes this genre structure has had to deal with increasingly in the last several years, and they are a threat simply because they change the color or content of the metal walls.

    Change is inevitable in life and that’s something that the metal community and all humans should embrace and be better for it.

    Closed-mindedness is always a product of fear, and fear is not very metal.” – Sera Timms

    http://www.nocleansinging.com/2013/12/05/womanowar-the-argument-for-balance-equality-interview-with-sera-timms-ides-of-gemini-black-math-horseman/

  5. great article. I’m also a friend of Kim’s and bore witness to the gross shit said about her this weekend. When we stand in solidarity we stand together. That phil mcsorely guy can fuck off.

  6. Honestly I wish we could just leave this shit out of metal. There’s no room for SJW’s, and feminism in metal. I know people are going to call me an asshole for this, but I don’t give a fuck because this shit ruins what is real in metal. Metal is my life, and I know it sounds cliché, but I won’t let anyone ruin it for me, and others. Also, stop white knighting, it’s pathetic, and betta. A girl has to be just as good, or better because this is a genre formed by men. I can actually respect that unlike most.

  7. Dear Brian

    I just wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you for this piece of intelligent and heartfelt writing. I am a woman in metal, have been a performer for the last decade and it is also the subject of my PhD. As a front woman and guitarist I have experienced some very nasty things from some male audience members and how this extends to exist on social media is horrendous. I get shouted down because I have dared to speak out, threatened with death or rape…

    Anyway, I just wanted to say thank you. I genuinely appreciate what you have said.

    All the best

  8. As a lifelong metalhead and defender of human rights, articles like this inspire me and reassure me there are others fighting for the same equality I want to see in our community. It’s amazing how people can say to themselves, “I never had a problem, therefore it’s not a problem.” There are countless incidents at shows, in record stores, and online that drive people away from metal, which is a damn shame because (I think we can all agree here) it’s the best music and we should want everyone listening to it to feel included in the family.

    Thanks for writing this. You’ve gained a loyal reader.

  9. This is longwinded, blowhard, pat-myself-on-the-back, tripe. You’re no better than the people you’re turning-up your nose at. You don’t honestly care about these issues. Your type publicly plays the professionally insulted, while the other side of that coin is the professionally victimized. Two heads on the same exposed nerve of a beast. Everybody needs to fucking toughen up; the world is a hateful, painful, dirty place and that will never change. It’s human nature; it’s also not going anywhere.

    You “social justice” warriors are fighting a battle which cannot be won, like the war or terror, or the war on drugs. What you are also doing is making life insufferable for everyone who has to live and interact with you. Most of us don’t care, because we have all had to put up with shit. Everybody puts up with shit, so get over yourselves; you aren’t a special snowflake. No one is. We’re born alone and we die alone. Put on your brave face and take the world as it comes, or go cry in the corner, but leave the rest of us the fuck alone. We’re tired of your shit.

      • There’s nothing wrong with being upset! I’d be upset if comments like McSorley’s were directed at me – they’re disgusting.

        What *is* wrong is telling people that their concerns aren’t valid.

    • Oh you poor lamb, it must be so ‘insufferable’ for you to have to listen to people ask for petty little things like basic human decency and dignity. Here’s an idea– may I suggest you toughen the fuck up? Just a little advice from us ‘social justice’ warriors: Put on your brave face and take the world as it comes, or go cry in the corner, but leave the rest of us the fuck alone. We’re tired of your shit.

      • Please don’t do this. People can be wrong without having to ‘toughen the fuck up’. There’s nothing wrong with “crying in the corner” – people shouldn’t be forced to be ultra-masculine, not sensitive, etc.

  10. “Do you remember Iron Maiden ever trashing their female fans or fellow musicians? Harassing gay or trans members of their audience?”

    Well, no. Although I do remember hearing an Iron Maiden release – I’m struggling to remember which; it might have been an Aces High EP if there was ever such a thing – which featured a spoken word track starring Nicko McBrain, where he made a joke about “queers”.

    Splitting hairs, I know; but you did ask the question.

    • I kind of remember that? I think I remember it being more of a joke than anything serious meant to harass or hurt someone. But maybe I’m splitting hairs, too. OK, we’ll chalk that one up as one bad joke. But I think the bulk of their career does not represent hatred. But thanks for the point, and it’s a good one. Awesome profile photo, too!

  11. So my question to you is, why is Kim allowed to get away with hack journalism all the time? Remember when it was fine for her to glad-hand Bolzer and promote Anal Cunt, but then she did her best to give the guys from fucking Dragonforce a browbeating because of some childish lyrics they wrote twenty fucking years ago? Jesus fucking Christ. She’s a hack. So someone calls her out on her shit and she summons the sycophantic super friend guild to come to her aid? I thought she was some “tough metal woman freedom fighter” or something? She’s not the first woman to cover metal, but apparently is the most overly sensitive. I don’t agree with McSorley’s personal views, but goddamn when did metal become so fucking safe?

    • I specifically am not responding to many comments on here so people can their say. But I assume you’ve never met/dealt with Kim. The fact that she has had the volume of work published in as many places as she has speaks to the respect people have for her. I share that. I know people got pissed about the DragonForce story. I can see you side of it. Personally, I thought it was an angle most of their mainstream Rock Band audience do not know is in their past. She publicly said she regrets her dealings with Anal Cunt. The Bolzer piece, she let them say a pretty good amount about their tattoos and logo. She actually gave them some rope to hang themselves whether that was their intent or not. The story actually made me decide against buying their merch. But again, I can see your side there.

      But if you think Kim is a hack, you don’t know what a hack writer is. She has raised more awareness for underground metal among larger publications (a Primordial review in Rolling Stone is nothing to sneeze at) than anyone I can think of. Doesn’t mean you have to endorse her work. I think a lot of people are uncomfortable with her because she is a woman, and her knowledge level is terrifying. That scares people.

      Also, Kim did not ask me to write a thing. We did not even talk about it. Knowing her, there’s no way she asked anyone to either. People respect and like her. That speaks volumes for people who actually now her (and she and I aren’t regular drinking buds or anything). Also, Phil did not call her out for any legitimate reason other than he’s a hateful, racist fuck and she isn’t There was no merit to what he said beyond hatred.

      Thanks for reading, and I hope you come back in the future and comment on other things. I’m not asking for metal to be safe. I’m asking for some respect.

  12. I respect your opinion, and thank you for the reply. I have no issues with Kim as a “woman” in metal. Shit, that is still a fucking thing? No, I don’t know Kim personally, and again I don’t side with McSorley. She is prolific as a writer. In my opinion, (yes mine, and shared by many others) she is a boring writer who apparently has little to no humility or sense of humor. I didn’t mean to come off so aggressive with you, and if I did I apologize. I just mean wow, it’s angry aggressive music ya know? Also, I am a pretty goddamn liberal individual myself. I wouldn’t identify as a feminist, but I am absolutely in full support of women having equal rights, etc etc. We all know the drill here. But again, thank you for being courteous.

    • You have every right to think however you want about Kim’s writing or any writer’s, for that matter. I’ve had people rip my writing before, and that’s fine. Not everyone’s cup of soup, you know? In fact, let’s just drop the subject on her, because me bringing that up (and I specifically did not name her on purpose) was just the catalyst for this piece, which was a long time coming.

      And what you said about women enjoying the same rights as anyone, that’s just basic feminism. At its very heart, it just means supporting women and their rights. So we agree on that. Also, don’t worry about your tone! We get fired up around here because we give a shit.

  13. Well I am sorry for getting so riled up. You seem like a pretty reasonable and affable fellow. I won’t bring her up again either. We all like cool music so let’s just enjoy that. Thanks again.

  14. Yeah, everyone who’s not holding their neighbor’s hand and dancing in a circle while listening to songs about dead children, cannibalism and butchery is, like, so living in the past, man!

    …Faggots.

    Oops.

      • My real name is Rico Dietz. Does this make my comment any less cowardly in your eyes? Or were you hoping to brand me an intolerant asshole on Facebook/Twitter? I can save you some trouble: I don’t use any social media sites, found this gem of an article through Metal-Archives and the hilarious naiveté
        and social justice white-knighting just made me want to comment. I have nothing against homosexual people or people of different skin colors. What I can’t stand is hypocrites like you trying to shove their hippie attitude down everyone’s throats. If you really want to live in a sterile and let’s-never-offend-anyone-world then that’s absolutely fine, but don’t presume to try and tell me what I can or can’t think and say.

      • I don’t expose people’s comments via social. Never have. Never did. It’s just always amusing that so many of these posts are left sans name. Yet, there’s my name on every post.

        Curious as to how I am a hypocrite? I would be if I did the very things I mentioned in my piece. So … But anyway, way to go collecting word drop points with “social justice,” “white knighting,” and “hippie.” You’re atop the leaderboard.

      • You’re a hypocrite because Metal is supposed to be about the spirit of rebellion, about not adhering to stifling restrictions, about freedom of expression. Sadly, “freedom of expression” these days means “You can speak your mind as long as you make sure not to offend gays/lesbians, blacks, whites, yellows, religious people, amputees, bronies, Aunt Christa, unicorns and the Yeti tribes of the Himalayan mountains.” Hell, I’m deeply offended and feel personally violated every time I have to listen to a popular radio station, yet no one gives a fuck about my plight. I demand equal rights!

        Honestly, it’s quite frankly baffling to me how you can expect someone like McSorley to be all smiles and hugs after listening to Cobalt for more than a minute. There’s still musicians out there who actually pour their heart and soul into their music. If said music then sounds like Cobalt’s vocal department, it’s pretty clear to me that the creator does not go around planting trees and helping old women cross the street. I prefer honest bastards like that to the flowery pacifists who -for whatever reason- are moved to compose heavy/violent music without the attitude to match. The latter just seem disingenuous and fake to me.

        Thanks for the word drop points. I’ll cherish them forever.

      • No one said a thing about freedom of expression. You have the right to say what you want. But there are consequences sometimes. I am not against music that is dark, hateful, violent. Just look at the music I discuss on this site. But there’s a major difference when you start turning those things into real life and harass actual people. No way do I expect McSorley to be happy and jolly creating music. That wouldn’t be him. I get that. But when you start posting racist, homophobic taunts on social media and directly harassing people, that goes beyond music. That goes beyond an artistic expression to release aggression and anger and fear. That’s just being a shit human.

        Music that outright expresses hatred and violence toward blacks, gays, women, minorities, you name it, is not acceptable to me. You have every right to enjoy it. They have every right to make it. But people who refuse to wallow in such shallow art will not be covered here. And if they’re called out for their hatred, then they’re getting what they deserve. it also works the other way in that people who agree with their viewpoints will gravitate toward them.

        I also challenge again that your hypocrite assertion holds no water. I didn’t put those meaning son metal. You did. You can disagree with how I feel about these things, as is your right, but that’s all it really is.

      • Our definitions of what Metal is seem to be very different on a fundamental level. Fair enough. I do disagree with you, but I appreciate you clarifying your point.

        In your original post it came across as a call for outright censorship (“You think it’s OK to jokingly say, ‘That band is gay’? It’s not. Stop fucking saying it.”), while now you at lease cede that I have the right to say what I want as long as I’m prepared to face the consequences. If that makes me a shit human I’ll gladly join that throng of wretches. Maybe one day we’ll get our own holy crusade to defend the rights of the oppressed. 😉

        Anyway, the nice man in the white coat is here, time for my funny pills. Toodles.

  15. I don’t really know what “social justice white-knighting” is, but if it’s equivalent to suggesting people be decent human beings as many of the above comments seem to imply, I’d like a lot of people to do more of it.

  16. Unsane (Bestial Summoning, far better band than your vegan female sludge/”black metal” shitful band), 1992: “Normal people who can be my slaves… people I can torture & do things with… little girls I can rape… Jewish people I can send to the gas chamber… black people I can burn, white people I can bathe in acid… wimps I can rip their arms off so I can watch them suffer & most of all Christians I can play with & just kill a little bit of each day so they can pray to their false god to help them, which he can’t. Would be so fuckin nice, huh??”.

  17. you are a massive faggot, metal has always been about offending people and hatred. that’s why you can’t find songs about unicorns and rainbows. Political correctness is not metal, love and tolerance is not metal.

  18. this article is really fucking g@y

    there are no “negative” undertones in metal, you just percieve it that way, for christ sake our god is a f@g and we love him so much some of us would proudly present our @ss to him. Now quit being a pu55y f@g and listen to some metal until you’ve been cleansed of the sand your mindpu55y has taken in.

  19. “I’m not going to rehash the entire thing here for a number of reasons, the largest of which is I don’t want to further distribute the garbage that was disseminated via social media this weekend by Phil McSorley of Cobalt”

    Okay, so you claim Phil McSorley of Cobalt made homophobic statements yet you don’t want to show us any evidence. In other words, you want us to LISTEN AND BELIEVE. Yeah, you can fuck off. Metal doesn’t need your social justice bullshit.

  20. Metal is not a family. There is no place for hippy sentiments in metal. Clearly metal is a joke to all of you. Its nice that you can gang up on people,call them names etc simply because they don’t want to be part of your hipster club. I’m metal through and through but the loser scensters that go to metal shows in my city are not my family. They are the scum that exists in every musical scene and I neither need nor want them in my existence. Bands,keep on making your music.fans,please commit suicide. Your article was a joke.

  21. Amazing that people identify themselves with a music genre in that way, I mean it’s not like you’re actually achieving anything with it apart from making songs and escaping the every day dreary bullshit of work while people get drunk and watch long haired men on stage. – And now, on top of that, you’re supposed to be politically correct all of a sudden? Jeez, yeah sure, fascists are in most cases deluded morons who seek a strong leader, no doubt – but being a politically correct-thought police? talking about metal as a family…? Wow.. moralism and extreme metal. What’s next, take away the satanic imagery since it offends religious people? Please. Shitty social skills and creativity go hand and hand.. hail Stalin.

  22. Pingback: Beast Mode: Metal’s Evolution From Caveman To Cobalt - Stereogum

  23. wow. this post is the antithesis of metal. and you should feel bad for writing this garbage. shame on you for spreading dangerous political ideologies. man, you hardcore leftists are just as bad as the extreme right. bunch of fundamental fanatics that should be put on a spaceship and jettisoned on a far away planet. ho-ly shit, you’re stupid

  24. Since you are an american -maybe -or a jew (the worst) -I can understand how you don’t understand some things, so allow me to say you:

    1.

    a) Males and females are not the same things, they are not equal. Female is a promanation of the essence of Prakrti, which is related to the matter, to the female (lunar) principle of instability and impulses. Male is a promanation of Purusha, which is olympic (and solar) vibrational principle, that of stability and firmness; so they are metaphysically two different things, and they can not be equated. The true Transcendence happens when the man follows the Way-s of approximation -the Way of the Ascetic, which is proper of the Brahmana Caste, and that of the Warrior, which is proper of the Kshatriya Caste-. The females ways are the Way of the Mother-Wife -the Demetric Woman -and that of the lover-concubine-prostitute, which is the Way of the Aphroditic Woman. This is what Aryan Traditionalism is. What you have expressed is jewish lunarism, degenerescence.

    b) The feminism you have expressed is nothing but a jewish way, brought by the international jewry in order to corrupt European women and girls. Feminism is basically based on a nonsensical following of some “male criteria” by the female; this shows a sort of inferiority complex by woman, because since feminism is what I have described above, it means that the feminist female underextimates herself so much, if she feels so much to “do” and “be” “like the men are”, don’t you think so? Of course all this should be put in a wider consideration about the degeneration of genders: feminism plays an important part in this decadence.

    2.

    Also the homosexuals are degenerated, for the principles expressed above. They have to be liquidated as a problem of degeneration and a lobby which -with the support of the jew -brings more and more decadence.

    3.

    Metal is not a family, this is a view that can not be approved according to the Aryan concept of Family.

    4.

    The “exclusion” – “inclusion” thing is politically correct, and politically correct is established by jewish media in order to brainwash people and make them believe what to do about what and who.

    Categories as homosexuals, transexuals and jews have not only to be “excluded”, they have to be eradicated as the ill organism liquidates bacteria and viruses.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.